Maraschino Party Cake with Cherry Frosting

As promised, here are the pink Cherry Cake and Frosting recipes that you could add to your Apron gift (or use on its own). The cake and frosting are sweet so I halve the frosting recipe.

And yes, of course, I tweak the recipes a bit!

For the cake, I drop the sugar to about 3/4 cup. I also added more cherry juice and less milk to come to 2/3 cup total. It’s the cherry flavor I want!

For the frosting I add more cherry juice again. How much depends on how much frosting I am making and what consistency I want to reach. I also dry off some whole maraschino cherries to decorate the top. I LOVE maraschino cherries…or “sugar cherries” as I call them at home to remind my son who also loves them that they are a “sometimes food”!

(The picture below does not show the Cherry Frosting. I combined the two on my own for the complete cherriness.)

http://www.lhj.com/recipe/maraschino-party-cake/

Cherry-Almond Butter Frosting
Ingredients
1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened
8 cups powdered sugar
6 tablespoons maraschino cherry juice or milk
1/2 teaspoon almond extract
Additional maraschino cherry juice

Directions
1.In a large mixing bowl beat softened butter with mixer on medium until smooth. Gradually beat in 2 cups of the powdered sugar. Slowly beat in cherry juice or milk and almond extract. Gradually beat in remaining powdered sugar. If necessary, beat in additional juice, 1 teaspoon at a time, to reach spreading consistency.

http://www.bhg.com/recipe/cherry-flower-power-cake/
(This link takes you to the Better Homes and Gardens recipe for a cake that uses the above frosting. You will need to scroll to view their recipe but I have copied the recipe above to make it easier for you).

Enjoy!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Chocolate-Cherry Cake | Make it, Bake it or Buy it!
  2. Trackback: Chocolate-Cherry Cake | Make it, Bake it or Buy it...Recipes!

Have a thought? Happy to hear from you...

Make it, Bake it or Buy it...Recipes!

Fresh Ideas for Gifting With Food

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

The Spice House Blog

Find fresh ideas for giving thoughtful gifts

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

Make it, Bake it or Buy it!

Find fresh ideas for giving thoughtful gifts

i am baker

Find fresh ideas for giving thoughtful gifts

Beau-coup Blog

Find fresh ideas for giving thoughtful gifts

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

