Peaceful Chaos

(photo credit: 2007 Heath Robbins/”Out of Control”. http://www.palmpressinc.com on the card that I have by my computer in the kitchen that prompted this post. And credit to: http://lifevictorious.wordpress.com/…which is where I found this picture when I was searching for the photographers photo online.)

This isn’t REALLY a picture of me and my kids, but take away the belly (well, the baby in the belly any ways…you can leave the belly), 2 of the 5 kids and replace the dog with a cat and it could be.

Stop in unexpected (I do not recommend that you do so) and this is our snapshot pretty much at any moment of the day, especially the afternoon when they have all won.

That picture sits on my kitchen counter near my computer alongside a yoga pic of serenity reminding me that, “Mindfulness is paying attention on purpose non-judgmentally in the present moment as if my life depended on it.”, by Jon Kabat-Zinn.

The two scenes seem to be polar opposites, that you can have one or the other, but not both. But, in my world, they are the perfect complement to each other.

When I can embrace the chaos in my life with humor and slow motion, I can appreciate it. It isn’t easy to do because, Good Lord, who can live like this daily and not lose it? But I do and I wouldn’t change it one bit.

Ok, maybe one teensy weensy eensy bit.

My goal this year was to slow down and pay attention to the “moments” in our daily life. My oldest will join the world as he enters kindergarten this year. My middle child will finally lose her older sibling “appendage” and see that she can make decisions on her own, by herself, with no one helping, all alone and independently (I am so happy for her!). My toddler is heading toward 2 years old and once they are over that hump, they change. They gain independence on so many levels. That is happy news because the age group is “just a tad bit” of work, but it is bittersweet. We will be moving on from the “baby” world that I have existed in for the past 5 1/2 years.

I don’t want to miss a moment of this Chaos…it’s mine, all mine.

Have a thought? Happy to hear from you...

Make it, Bake it or Buy it...Recipes!

Fresh Ideas for Gifting With Food

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

The Spice House Blog

Find fresh ideas for giving thoughtful gifts

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

Make it, Bake it or Buy it!

Find fresh ideas for giving thoughtful gifts

i am baker

Find fresh ideas for giving thoughtful gifts

Beau-coup Blog

Find fresh ideas for giving thoughtful gifts

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

