Happy May Day!

It’s May Day!

Not sure what that is? Check out this link for a history lesson:

http://www.washingtonpost.com/lifestyle/kidspost/what-is-may-day-all-about/2014/04/29/e2d6056c-cafc-11e3-95f7-7ecdde72d2ea_story.html

My grandmother was a May queen and she would also sneak up to our house in the country and leave May Day baskets on our door step.

In my fog of daily life, I sort of forgot that it is May Day so last night I was scrambling to make May Day baskets for my children. This will be the first year that they get one since they are a bit older and I am feeling slightly more “on the ball”, albeit late at night when I should be in bed.

Happy May Day!

Here is a basket for you…it reminds me of the “crepe paper over cartons” baskets my grandma left for us. (I did not make it, but found it when searching for “free photos of May Day baskets”! I have included the link to the blogger – Susan Style – who made this beautiful traditional basket below)…


http://susanandersonlogan.blogspot.com/2011/05/may-day.html

Have a thought? Happy to hear from you...

Make it, Bake it or Buy it...Recipes!

Fresh Ideas for Gifting With Food

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

The Spice House Blog

Find fresh ideas for giving thoughtful gifts

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

Make it, Bake it or Buy it!

Find fresh ideas for giving thoughtful gifts

i am baker

Find fresh ideas for giving thoughtful gifts

Beau-coup Blog

Find fresh ideas for giving thoughtful gifts

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

