Bacon Friday

It’s Friday, which is usually “Cook Bacon Day”.

Friday is a good day because we do not have to leave the house for anything so I have the time. It’s also a good day because my husband will not have to go to work for a few days so we can air the bacon smell from his suits before he has to go back again. I am sure his co-workers really appreciate our thoughtfulness. Actually, I appreciate airing out the house too. I love Bacon but it has a smell that takes over.

Today’s Bacon Day is a bit different though. For one, I am wearing my NEW apron to keep the grease off of my casual attire. Secondly, I am cooking 2 lbs of Bacon instead of the usual 1 lb.

Yes, you heard me right. 2 lbs.

Bacon is on the Food Pyramid and part of the “meat” food group in these parts.

There is a method to my madness of cooking 2 lbs of Bacon. We do eat it and it does go fast but we won’t eat ALL of the Bacon today…probably not…I think. So I under cook some of it so that I can give it a quick heating to crisp it but not spend hours cooking more Bacon tomorrow…or later…

Oh sure, I know it’s wrong.

But Bacon and I have had a long love affair. We definitely saw way too much of each other in my 20’s. We finally got to the point were we just saw each other on special occasions. I missed Bacon but it was for the best. I could feel it in my heart (get it?).

I knew that over the last year we began to sneak in some extra time together, for my kids. They need “meat” and my options are limited on what they like. I don’t know exactly when it happened but Bacon started joining me again frequently and it seemed like Fridays became “our” day. I say it is for the kids, but really, I am secretly glad Bacon is back.

It won’t last.

It can’t last.

It’s not good for us to be seeing this much of each other again. And now, bacon is seeing my kids too. It’s not just about me anymore. I will have to review the frequency of our relationship because I need to do what is right for the kids.

But for right now, Bacon is best.

They need meat you know!

Bacon

I had a picture of the bacon cooking next to the already cooked bacon. It was gross, even for me. All that grease and spatters and bacon…too much.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: My Summer “Thank You Note” | Make it, Bake it or Buy it!
  2. Trackback: Road Trip Ramblings, Day 1 – Getting On the Road | Make it, Bake it or Buy it!
  3. Trackback: The “Hate”Word | Make it, Bake it or Buy it!

Have a thought? Happy to hear from you...

Make it, Bake it or Buy it...Recipes!

Fresh Ideas for Gifting With Food

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

The Spice House Blog

Find fresh ideas for giving thoughtful gifts

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

Make it, Bake it or Buy it!

Find fresh ideas for giving thoughtful gifts

i am baker

Find fresh ideas for giving thoughtful gifts

Beau-coup Blog

Find fresh ideas for giving thoughtful gifts

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

