Still Standing

************************

Listening to the wind today, I am amazed that our house is still standing. Both of them.

Play House
(The “pen” is to keep my toddler from darting when my back is turned and I do actually drag it all onto the grass for safe playtime. I moved it to fertilize. And yes, I fertilize my lawn, with kids. Three eyes could prove to be an advantage.)

A few years ago, that was not the case.

We came home from a long weekend in Chicago after a fierce nighttime storm throughout the area to find this play house in pieces ALL over the fields in our neighborhood. A wall here, the roof waaaaaay over there…and wait…is that the door stuck in that tree line? Yup. We humped ourselves all over in the crazy wind trying to salvage the play house. Dragging it back home against the wind, I think every direction was against the wind, was nearly impossible. But when your almost 3-year old sees his “home” in pieces all over as he looks out the car window you find the strength to save the day.

We did.

And I bolted the house together when I performed the rebuild.

The wind that permeates our lives almost daily living near lake Michigan is annoying. But then there the are days that you cannot believe your roof doesn’t topple off in pieces similar to the blizzard of the century scene in Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer. I haven’t actually seen people tumbling by when I have looked out the window but there was one Garbage Friday (not to be confused with Bacon Friday) when many a neighbor’s garbage cans were rolling and bucking across the fields around our house, ready to smash whatever came in their path. Luckily, it was not our house.

At night, I lie in bed listening to the fierceness of the wind and just hope I am still lying in my bed with walls and a roof when I wake up in the morning…assuming I can get to sleep!

Have a thought? Happy to hear from you...

Make it, Bake it or Buy it...Recipes!

Fresh Ideas for Gifting With Food

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

The Spice House Blog

Find fresh ideas for giving thoughtful gifts

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

Make it, Bake it or Buy it!

Find fresh ideas for giving thoughtful gifts

i am baker

Find fresh ideas for giving thoughtful gifts

Beau-coup Blog

Find fresh ideas for giving thoughtful gifts

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

