Homemade Cocoa Cookie Ice Cream Sandwiches

We had Homemade Cocoa Cookie Ice Cream Sandwiches for Mother’s Day and they were perfect. I will share the recipe first and then will ramble on below the recipe about my Mother’s Day Plan. That way, if you have no interest whatsoever in my “Gift of Gab” session, you got to the best part of the post right away!

IMGP7554

IMGP7552

IMGP7559

Since it was about my kids, I made a kid-sized and a momma-sized sandwich…so cute!

***********************************

Cocoa Roll-Out Cookies (From Best-Loved Cookies…but I do not know where I found it so I had to write it)

3 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 12/ teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 cups sugar
1 cup shortening
2 eggs
1/4 cup milk

1. In a large bowl stir together flour, cocoa powder, baking powder and salt. Set aside.

2. In a large bowl beat sugar and shortening on medium to high until combined. Beat in eggs and milk until combined. Beat in as much of the flour mixture as you can with the mixer. Use a wooden spoon to stir in any remaining flour mixture. Divide dough in half, wrap in plastic and refrigerate for 1 to 2 hours or more.

3. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. On a lightly floured surface, roll out half of the dough at a time until 1/4 inch thick. (I only used half of the dough for sandwiches and will use the other half for another delightful treat in a few days when I decide what I want to do.)

Use the cookie cutter of your choice to cut out the dough. Place cookies on a baking sheet and bake about 7 minutes or until firm. Cool on pan for 1 minute then transfer to wire rack to cool completely.
*******************************

Ice Cream Mixture

Select an ice cream flavor, the sky is the limit! Then select the yummy goodies that you want to add to the ice cream…again pick whatever makes your heart happy. Let the ice cream soften a bit to make it easier to combine the mix-ins. Scoop ice cream onto the not so pretty side of the cookie and then top with another cookie – hiding that cookie’s not so pretty side. If your ice cream has softened too much and is runny, freeze for 5 minutes before trying to fill your cookie sandwiches. I know this from experience.

I used two sizes of heart shaped cookie cutters, one kid-sized and one momma-sized. Then I chose vanilla ice cream, because that is what I had on hand. I scooped enough in a bowl to make the kid-sized cookie sandwiches and mixed in sprinkles. I decided to use a small amount of ice cream on the kid-sized ones because my kids are young and it is hard to eat thick treats.

I envisioned melty ice cream all over, on Mother’s Day, no less.

I made all of the kid-sized sandwiches and placed them in plastic containers that went right into the freezer. You could also wrap in plastic wrap and put on a cookie sheet in the freezer but time was of the essence for me…a whining toddler was hanging off of my leg and my ice cream was melting. I had to move fast!

For the grown-up momma-sized cookies I “went to town”. I added mini chocolate chips, caramel sugared peanuts, salted whole almonds and chopped maraschino cherries. Then I put a nice big scoop on one side of the cookie and topped it with another cookie.

These were so yummy and the cookie was nice and soft but held it’s shape. It was a great dough for this treat. I purposely chose this recipe because it called for shortening. Butter makes cookies spread and fluff a bit. I did not want that for this treat. I wanted it to resemble a store bought ice cream sandwich, just better.

It SO was!

***************************************

Ok, here are my ramblings. That up there above was really not rambling. Honest!

I took a different approach to Mother’s Day this year and decided to use the energy that I had previously put into making a celebration for myself, into celebrating my children. My children are young so planning a celebration for me fell on, well me.

There is a time and a place for that.

Mother’s Day is not “that time” at this point in my life. Down the road I may decide to jump in and steer the party planning but it has no appeal to me now and is just exhausting.

First off, no “party”. No big “tadoo”. (I had to look up how to spell that.)

The second part of my plan to change the focus of Mother’s Day to something that made more sense was to do things that my kids would enjoy.

“Cake Bread with whipped cream” or AKA Vanilla-Sparkling Wine Pound Cake for breakfast. Yummy and a nice way to start the day.

Lunchables.

“Lunchables” boxed lunches are exciting. And they require little of me.

Or I thought they did until I started writing about them.

Now that I think about it though, they did take up quite a bit of time and it is very busy getting set up. They eat very little out of them so I have to get creative in selecting a box, such as getting a sandwich roll that I can put peanut butter on instead of using the meat and cheese that comes with it. That takes a few moments of standing in the grocery aisle making a selection, with my toddler, so I have to make that mindful selection fast. Then you have to open up all the components of the box and assemble a cohesive lunch that they will actually eat, like removing the cheese and meat, so you can get out your own supplies like peanut butter and jelly and make a sandwich.

You also have to negotiate a replacement treat from something that I have in a cupboard that will equal the hard candy treat that they are not old enough to eat that came with the Lunchable that will rival the exciting one that came in the box. Phew…

Hmmmm…reliving it is making me wonder about the wisdom of my idea.

I hope by being an older mom and having to put so much “thought” into simple daily moments that it will help keep my mind sharp. Periodically, when I get to read something other than from the children’s section, I will read that a tip for keeping your mind healthy is to do crossword puzzles and other activities that require thought. This old momma has no time for that but in reality, my 3 live puzzles are probably more effective and far from tiring. Well, tiring in the “boring” sense of the word. They are very tiring in the physical and mental sense of the word. I was never one to go to sleep when my head hit the pillow, until I had kids. But now we are “doe walking”.

Back to my ramblings.

It was a wonderful day in the sense of “being momma”.

My daughter woke up with a full blown cold. She was a drippy, stuffy, whiney, tired, miserable, impatient mess all day.

There are two things that my children do when they are sick that I have never seen other children do and am not sure why mine have to. The first is that they walk around with “cloths”, old burp cloths or receiving blankets that I keep for messes etc., that they keep close by to wipe eyes and noses. But they carry them in their mouths so they are sloppy and goopy. You cannot understand a word that they say because the cloth is in their mouth. So you spend extra time arguing because they get upset with you that you cannot hear them.

The second thing they do is this higher pitched whiney moan that goes on incessantly ALL day, for every day that they are in the thick of being sick. It is grating to say the least.

But, I had sunshine and warmth, which has happened very little here. I had my little peoples. And we had delicious Homemade Cocoa Cookie Ice Cream Sandwiches with our Lunchables and Corned Beef Banana Pepper Sandwiches.

My kids were thrilled with all of the little things throughout the day that celebrated me being a momma.

I was too…

Have a thought? Happy to hear from you...

Make it, Bake it or Buy it...Recipes!

Fresh Ideas for Gifting With Food

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

The Spice House Blog

Find fresh ideas for giving thoughtful gifts

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

Make it, Bake it or Buy it!

Find fresh ideas for giving thoughtful gifts

i am baker

Find fresh ideas for giving thoughtful gifts

Beau-coup Blog

Find fresh ideas for giving thoughtful gifts

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

