The “Hate” Word

I rarely use the word “hate”.

I was taught not to throughout childhood. As I grew up and made a few decisions of my own I decided that it was a word best saved for special occasions, and I usually chose to replace it with “do not like” .

The one special occasion that stands out is, “I hate running”. (And Flying Flame Bags, but that is a different post…)

I do. I really, really do.

Or at least I did from my teenage years to this past year. I always enjoyed Jerry Seinfeld’s comment on running, “It’s my policy to only run when I am being chased”, or something like that.

I had added running to my walking routine the last few years because I needed to up my “get in shape” game with some serious tricks. But I have hated it. Despite listening to music on my Ipod, every foot step was to the beat of, “hate, it, hate, it, hate, it, hate, it”…and so on.

The prompting moment to add running was looking at some pictures of myself while on summer vacation last year. They hit me over the head with a dose of reality. They say a picture is worth a thousand words and I did not like any one of those thousand words that came out of that picture. Thus, I begrudgingly put some energy into my exercise routine, albeit sporadically, over the winter and that may actually have given me some unexpected stamina. Maybe.

Or maybe it is the lure of doing my 30 minute walking route in a 10 minute run. When every second of “me” time counts, I no longer feel the need to check out mentally as I meander around the neighborhood for a half an hour. That was always one of my excuses for not wanting to run – I couldn’t just enjoy “being” outside. I didn’t notice the trees and the sky.

Or maybe it is because I do not want Bacon Friday to end.

But this spring, something strange happened.

When I stepped outside to run again, and really I mean jog for a couple of minutes, I WANTED to run. The beat of my foot steps was no longer to “hate, it, hate, it” but to Kenny Loggins telling me, “Don’t fight It” and Lady Gaga cheering me on with “Applause”. (My Ipod music is eclectic to put it mildly. When Asia, Whitesnake, Dokken, Bon Jovi, Yanni, Josh Groban, Kenny Loggins, Pitbull, J Lo, Lady Gaga and Kesha hang out together you know you have entered a time warp.)

I do not see myself entering any 5K’s.

I still can be seen doing the “walk/run” and although my lungs are no longer burning with a 4-alarm fire, they still smolder.

The only record I may set is leaving the house to run and re-entering post run with the fastest time.

I am not sure that my husband even knows that I have left to go run. He is still watching the same TV show when I return and I didn’t miss much.  But that is not the significant part of this experience. We can gloss over the technicalities of my run, I mean jog.

The noteworthy part is that running was never in any part of my enjoyment plans. Ever. I hated running.

To actually desire to head out to run, I mean jog, is a “stop the presses” moment in my world for sure.

IMGP8045

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. runnershealth
    May 25, 2014 @ 09:48:40

    Good to hear you “have been bitten by the running bug”!
    Happy running!

    Like

    Reply

Have a thought? Happy to hear from you...

Make it, Bake it or Buy it...Recipes!

Fresh Ideas for Gifting With Food

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

The Spice House Blog

Find fresh ideas for giving thoughtful gifts

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

Make it, Bake it or Buy it!

Find fresh ideas for giving thoughtful gifts

i am baker

Find fresh ideas for giving thoughtful gifts

Beau-coup Blog

Find fresh ideas for giving thoughtful gifts

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

