I’ve Said it Before…Corn Bags…Ahhhh!

Last night, as I was lying in bed with my corn bag over my face, I knew that I needed to remind you that these are WONDERFUL gifts.

WONDERFUL!

I know why parents like summer camps and why they look forward to school starting.

And we have yet to start kindergarten, but I think God gives you these moments so that you do not focus on the emotional aspects of children leaving the nest.

It was a day of young children with way too much energy and the day continued along those lines. A new bike for my oldest because he finally figured out how to work the pedals. My middle child still couldn’t figure it out so I told her we would practice on her brother’s bike and then I would know what bike to get her. A toddler that had no interest in his sibling’s new venture, only an interest in “heading out” on his own.

An afternoon of practicing bike riding and a middle child finally “getting it” led to two children switching bikes. Ya know how that goes with siblings! They did well but I already planned on getting two bikes so I knew what I needed to do.

Alone.

Exhausted from a “fun-filled day of three young kids with too much energy”, I ordered another bike online for evening pickup. It would be much easier to go after bedtime to get the bike than bring everyone back to the store the next day. I did not need a repeat of my morning.

When all were in bed I went on my mission. I picked myself up two iced coffees from McDonald’s, as long as I was out, and continued on for the bike. I probably would have enjoyed both of the iced coffees right then but one was actually to save for the morning.

By the time I got home, I was exhausted. The kind where your head hurts. I still had most of my evening chores to complete but I just couldn’t. I knew the best thing for me was to get to bed so I could handle whatever the next day would bring. But as I hopped into bed, my head hurt and I knew I would not be able to sleep.

Two words…

Corn bag.

I got up and heated one then headed back to bed. The second I put that corn bag on my face I knew I would be all right. Ahhhhh….

When I woke up at some point in the middle of the night, my head was so much better and I felt human again. Thank you corn bags, you have saved me for the last twenty years.

Here is a sampling of my corn bags. Different sizes for different needs…the little ones are great for kids. I keep them in the freezer and they are handy for bumps and bruises. I even heated them, ever so slightly (really – be careful!) when my newborns had gas-ey bellies and they couldn’t get comfortable. Just a tiny bit of warmth seemed to ease their little bodies as I held them.

IMGP9485

*************************************

http://www.corn-bags.com/

(Various pricing depending on size)

*************************************

I also saw a site for making your own:

http://www.wikihow.com/Make-Corn-Bags

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Aaryne McEvoy
    Jul 24, 2014 @ 22:01:05

    I love them! They do not have overpowering herb scents and they can be used hot or cold, and also just to keep the kids happy!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Hilary
    Jul 24, 2014 @ 14:38:06

    Note to self…..have to buy one! Never used them before and apparently have been missing out. Awesome!

    Like

    Reply

Have a thought? Happy to hear from you...

Make it, Bake it or Buy it...Recipes!

Fresh Ideas for Gifting With Food

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

The Spice House Blog

Find fresh ideas for giving thoughtful gifts

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

Make it, Bake it or Buy it!

Find fresh ideas for giving thoughtful gifts

i am baker

Find fresh ideas for giving thoughtful gifts

Beau-coup Blog

Find fresh ideas for giving thoughtful gifts

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

