Halloween Goodies!

I have mixed feelings about Halloween.

Happy Halloween by the way! (or almost, if you are reading this on the eve when I actually posted it).

It is a fun holiday. I love silly spooky and I get a kick out of the old time black and white movies as well as the kid shows.

But I also have to find costumes that my kids can maneuver in at school independently (they have to go to the bathroom) and no store-bought costume fits that description. I prefer homemade costumes but since we entered the social domain at schools, my kids found out that there is a larger world than a costume that mom made.

Sad.

The candy negotiations begin as well and little by little, my wee ones stock dwindles (sometimes my secret stash gets bigger depending on what they scored). They do well with momma’s limits and soon they forget what they had. Then I move to close the Halloween candy deal in a few days and move on. So far, that works. As they get older, I will have to come up with something new.

This year, I was on a mission to send some healthy treats to my son’s Halloween party, in addition to my favorite Rice Krispy Treats. I saw these dressed up bananas and mandarin oranges during an online search (see the site link below) and fell in love!

Somehow though, in the translation of many back and forth emails with my son’s class party people, I ended up being assigned something else and someone got to make my bananas. Bummer!

But I wanted to share these with you in case you need some ideas. I made these at home for my kids any ways and they were a big hit. But they were supposed to be a bigger hit.

I had to tell someone, so thank you for listening.

http://www.creamty.com/t1/recipes/sweets-snacks/healthy-halloween-snacks.html

Aren’t they great? And easy!

*********************************

I did get to make my Rice Krispy Treats (and eat some)…

IMGP1322

And because it is Halloween, I made one candy corn levitate…

IMGP1335

spooky…ooooooo…..

Happy Halloween!

Don’t get a bellyache-

 

Have a thought? Happy to hear from you...

Make it, Bake it or Buy it...Recipes!

Fresh Ideas for Gifting With Food

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

The Spice House Blog

Find fresh ideas for giving thoughtful gifts

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

Make it, Bake it or Buy it!

Find fresh ideas for giving thoughtful gifts

i am baker

Find fresh ideas for giving thoughtful gifts

Beau-coup Blog

Find fresh ideas for giving thoughtful gifts

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

