Think Outside the Gift Box

I am by no means a “green queen” but I do look for ways to limit my footprint and follow the three R’s…reduce, reuse and recycle. I have an abnormal love of wrapping paper and get excited to shop the after-holiday sales to stock up on my wrapping supplies. But I go beyond just being happy to get some stuff on sale. I need to search through the inventory to find the paper that catches my eye. Whimsical holiday patterns, quiet winter patterns, and crazy patterns that scream “holidays” are all on my radar.

But, all of that wrapping paper and the boxes add up fast and it often heads to the landfill.

Getting clever when packaging up gifts and looking for other ways to deliver those fresh and thoughtful goodies can be just as much fun as searching for the gift!

A reusable shopping bag is handy long after the gift has left its cozy walls. I store a bunch of them in my car for those shopping trips when I have to bag myself.

Baskets are very functional and even a decorated box can be used again as a decoration or to store items.

My love for pillow cases means that you can wrap the gift in a seasonal pillowcase and then they can wrap up their pillow later!

The same goes for a throw, blanket, tablecloth etc.

Other ideas:

– festive socks or mittens for small goodies or a wine bottle (even a wooly hat or a scarf!)

– oven mitt

– slippers

– metal coffee can and you can include a recipe for a coffee can quick bread

– a pashmina

– new towels

Have a thought? Happy to hear from you...

Make it, Bake it or Buy it...Recipes!

Fresh Ideas for Gifting With Food

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

The Spice House Blog

Find fresh ideas for giving thoughtful gifts

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

Make it, Bake it or Buy it!

Find fresh ideas for giving thoughtful gifts

i am baker

Find fresh ideas for giving thoughtful gifts

Beau-coup Blog

Find fresh ideas for giving thoughtful gifts

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

