“Over the Hill” Party

IMGP1604

We recently had an “Over the Hill” party for the male that has been in my life the longest.

I was fresh into my 1st apartment when he moved in with me and he was a bit of a bad seed. He had behavioral issues and my mom was not thrilled about him.

(You should always listen to your mom…they just know about these things.)

But I couldn’t let him go, so he and I have been together for 20 years now.

If you had told me at 24 years old that I would still have this guy in my life, I probably would have gone into a panic. There was no way that I was interested in that kind of commitment.

But 2o years later we are still together and we have had quite a history together. A celebration was due.

He’s scruffy now and cannot hear, but it serves him well in our kid-friendly home.

IMGP1548

Happy 20th Birthday Raja!

He is still beautiful and full of spunk, at least once or twice a year. He tolerates me and my craziness. Every time I have to reorder his 16 lb. bag of prescription cat food, I consider a smaller bag, then go for the big one deciding that I can donate any leftover food. That was like three or four 16 lb. bags ago.

He needs nothing, as is often the case when you have lived a full life. But this Christmas he was thrilled with cat nip and scratch pads, things that he had not used in the last few years.

IMGP0325

And then he needs a nap.

IMGP0334

His favorite hobby has always been being outside, although he has had to accept supervised visits because I cannot let him go out on his own.

IMGP0410

He loves snow.

IMGP0409

and eating grass.

Here’s to many more lives, Raja, since I am sure that you are only on your first one!

(and no, he did eat any chocolate cake…that was for us…but did you notice the animal print candles? He he he…)

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hilary
    Jan 26, 2015 @ 13:59:46

    This is so incredibly cute! Raja is adorable – live long and senior on!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Aaryne McEvoy
    Jan 09, 2015 @ 07:56:26

    Thank you…I can’t believe I have a 20 year old cat and a 2 year old child!!!

    Like

    Reply

  3. Elaine
    Jan 08, 2015 @ 10:34:32

    Happy Birthday RAJA!!!! Very cute.

    Like

    Reply

Have a thought? Happy to hear from you...

Make it, Bake it or Buy it...Recipes!

Fresh Ideas for Gifting With Food

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

The Spice House Blog

Find fresh ideas for giving thoughtful gifts

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

Make it, Bake it or Buy it!

Find fresh ideas for giving thoughtful gifts

i am baker

Find fresh ideas for giving thoughtful gifts

Beau-coup Blog

Find fresh ideas for giving thoughtful gifts

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

