Home from Surgery

Thank you for your thoughts, prayers and well wishes yesterday during my wee one’s day surgery. He did a great job and is recovering at home today after a long day at the hospital.

IMGP0506

These are the bags that I took with me that were filled with food and activities for me and my wee one, but mostly me. Let’s face it, his day was pretty much planned out. There were various snacks of the sweet and salty variety and a Diet Pepsi, of course. A thermos with water and one with ice. The shining star was a turkey sandwich on a beautiful roll that was only slightly less “shining”” because it lacked bacon. But I was too tired to make it the night before and yesterday morning making bacon felt inappropriate when my wee one could only eat JELL-O. I had to call on the gods for self-control. I REALLY wanted bacon. I settled for bacon bits. It was still a delicious sandwich and I even packed chips and pickles. I had to have pickles and they made me so happy.

I found a section of the waiting room that I could call my own and set up my little fort. It was lovely. I ate half of my sandwich and a variety of accompaniments around 10:30 am when my muffin was in surgery. That time frame is normally second breakfast or first lunch for me when I am home, so I was right on schedule. It was delicious. I read a bit and eventually the surgery was over and I was called to meet with the surgeon. All went fine and it was to be about 30 minutes to an hour before my wee one would wake up and I could see him.

When I came out of the physician meeting room, the people in the waiting room had multiplied and I saw that I lost my large section that had been all to myself.  I tried to act casual as I looked around to see that there were other empty chairs that they could have selected from. My giant collection of bags should have been a warning. I needed to corral my bags so I squeezed me and my bags into the allotted space for one chair and then proceeded to become “one of those people”. The ones that we roll our eyes at. There are times when I fill that role very well and yesterday was one of those days.

I decided that I needed my Diet Pepsi. I really wanted the ice from my thermos in a cup with my Pepsi but the ice had melted enough to become one block. I would have needed to shake the thermos to break it all up. In the woods, that action would have been just fine. In the waiting room where parents were anxiously waiting for word on their wee ones, that behavior was not appropriate. So, I resigned myself to pouring the soda into the hard packed ice-filled Thermos so that it would at least be cold. My soda filled the thermos almost to the brim so I was going to need to politely sip out of the top of the thermos a bit before I could put the sippy-type cover on. No problem. I settled back with my book about self-publishing and prepared to wait out my time. Before I even took a polite sip of soda, a lady called for the mom of my wee one. She said that it was time to go with her. What? I just sat down. Is this the real deal? Do I get to go back with him now? Do I bring all of my things?

Yes.

Oh happiness! I started to gather my things realizing that I had a bit of work ahead of me to get packed up, all while the lady was waiting for me. Talk about pressure.

The first thing that I did was to put the top on my very full thermos of soda because I forgot that it was a very full thermos of soda. You guessed it. Soda spilled out onto the little end table. The people around me (that had not been there earlier in the day mind you) tried not to look.

At this point, I knew that I was just going to have to accept being “one of those people” and I may as well do it gracefully.

I tried.

But the soda just seemed to keep showing up on the table and I had to take it to the garbage and spill some out then make a few trips to grab tissues and throw them out. One of my giant bags that I had already slung on my shoulder kept falling and getting in the way as I tried to cleanup my mess and gather my belongings. It was not going well. I cheerfully offered that the doctor had just told me that it would be 30 minutes to an hour so I wasn’t expecting to go so quickly. No one seemed to see that THAT was the reason that I was in this predicament. They just kept pretending to look at their tiny little technology devices – the ONLY things that they brought with them.

Eventually the lady who was waiting for me came over and told me that she would take care of my mess. I told her that she did not need to clean up after me since it was my mess. I think she just could not take it anymore.

As I finally left to follow her to my wee one, with all my bags hanging off of me, I looked back to make sure that I had everything and saw that my neighbors were still pretending to look at their little devices but I think I heard them breathe a sigh of relief.

I was so happy to see my muffin that I had already “moved on” from my performance.

Eventually, he and I were settled in a room and when he fell asleep I grabbed my thermos full of soda. Ice-cold soda. Delightful.

It went just perfectly with the second half of my sandwich, chips and pickles.

I got to watch Sesame Street, which I think is one of the funniest shows ever made. The hidden humor gets me every time. And don’t even get me started on how funny Grover is.

And the highlight of the day was that the Tooth Fairy made a stop by the operating room since a tooth was hanging by a thread. That crazy lady even left a dollar. Who knew she made hospital calls?

*****************************************

Today I am balancing a recovering child’s needs with a birthday child’s needs…and a toddler’s needs.

A recovering child who feels worse than when he went in for the surgery that was supposed to make him feel better. He is frustrated.

A birthday child, who already had the “big bash” but is still excited (and rightfully so) because it is the “real birthday” and is looking for the hooplah.

A toddler who may not know exactly what is going on but knows enough to make sure that he isn’t left out of any of it, good or bad.

Phew…

But I still think my day is better than my neighbor’s who has her first few day old newborn.

I think…

My house is a mess, laundry is piled up, kitchen counters and dishes are in their various stages of clean/unclean and the countless other tasks that are always with me. I am tired.

But…

the ice cream cone cupcakes were made.

IMG_0279

IMG_0281

And as it would figure, this is what our cupcakes look like.

IMG_0283

I know it has nothing to do with me. I am not taking it personally.

They are far from perfect but I was the only one who noticed and not a one of us cares. It’s a good thing that we never met a cupcake that we didn’t like! With a little love it will be just fine. A moment is made…

IMG_0291

Hip-Hip Hooray for store-bought cake mix (although this one produced a not so soft cupcake) and frosting as a pantry staple (and for store-bought pre-made dinner!). It will be the best birthday ever!!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Just Like Perfect! | Make it, Bake it or Buy it!
  2. Elaine
    Jan 28, 2015 @ 09:31:00

    You need to keep all these adventures for your next book! Glad the wee-one is feeling better and that the other wee-one had a great b-day. You are a wonderful mom!

    Like

    Reply

    • Aaryne McEvoy
      Jan 28, 2015 @ 10:05:46

      Ha! I did think that it would make good journaling for my wee ones since I do not add to my family journal as much these days. I can supplement with my blog! Thank you…

      Like

      Reply

  3. Amy@10th Ave.
    Jan 28, 2015 @ 09:08:04

    LOL I enjoyed your story! I am “one of those people” regularly! I have a knack for making a spectacle of myself and like you, I find myself telling the world about my recent (mis)adventures. (And yes, Grover is simply THE BEST…)
    The cupcakes will make a great birthday party!

    Like

    Reply

    • Aaryne McEvoy
      Jan 28, 2015 @ 10:11:32

      How fun…a kindred spirit and in Wisconsin no less! I have a friend who once said that you needed to “have a story”. That little tidbit has always stuck with me and rings true every time – there is nothing like a story to go with your life adventures. And since it seems like there is always some sort of story to tell in my world, it’s an easy life motto 🙂

      Like

      Reply

Have a thought? Happy to hear from you...

Make it, Bake it or Buy it...Recipes!

Fresh Ideas for Gifting With Food

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

The Spice House Blog

Find fresh ideas for giving thoughtful gifts

eASYbAKED

a collection of recipes

Make it, Bake it or Buy it!

Find fresh ideas for giving thoughtful gifts

i am baker

Find fresh ideas for giving thoughtful gifts

Beau-coup Blog

Find fresh ideas for giving thoughtful gifts

The Pioneer Woman

Plowing through Life in the Country...One Calf Nut at a Time

